Sound Information #35 – Music is Dead!

From the Manifesto series, Music is Dead was recorded at ORF/KunstRadio studios, Vienna, October 2008. Originally titled, Breaking the Loop, this piece was a performance lecture commissioned for the Recycling the Future , ORF Funk House, Vienna, 4-7 December 1997.

Authored and spoken by Andrew Garton.

Sound Information #34 – Terminal Quartet: Graz Stadt Drift

Graz-Stadt Drift is a site specific structured improvisation for three operating systems, four computers and one turntable, the fourth member of the Quartet keeping all other performers in sync.

Performed by the infamous synth guitarist and sound artist, Josef ‘Seppo’ Gründler, budding Tone Master and composer, Peter Venus and Andrew Garton at Stockwerk Jazz, Graz, 29 Jan 2009.

  • 1st Movement: Josef ‘Seppo’ Gründler
  • 2nd Movement: Peter Venus
  • 3rd Movement: Andrew Garton
  • 4th Movement: Gründler, Venus, Garton

Sound Information #33 – Garton Live, Kommetjie, Cape Town

Live, warts ‘n’ all recording of an opening set for Camp Sunset Oasis, Southern Right Hotel, Kommetjie, Cape Town. It was the 1st of August. The recording contains the occasional banter of DJ’s and sound technicians as they complete the installation of the fold-back during my set. It makes for a rather amusing soundscape given most of my set was created with voice with two Headlock style pieces thrown in for good measure.

From the mailout:

Andrew Garton (aka Fierce Throat, Lost Time Accident) performs solo voice with oral microphone, hard curve saturation and open licensed visuals.

Garton is an Australian composer working within a diverse arts practice that has seen him perform and exhibit internationally for near on 30 years. He brings to his new performance works inspiration from the music and cultural practices of the indigenous communities of Borneo, the makams that form the basis of traditional Turkish music to the theatrics and shrill songs of the Awa Odori festivals of Japan. Garton comes to Cape Town from a global nomadic tour having recently performed in Japan, Austria and Sarawak both solo and with his Terminal Quartet.

Sound Information #32 – Terminal Quartet: On Sacred Rights

One of the strongest and most stirring performances by any iteration of the Terminal Quartet, On Sacred Rights was performed on Australia Day 2007 at the Make It Up Club, Fitzroy, Melbourne.

This unique performance featured the extrodinary and rare combination Ash Wednesday, Steve Law, John Grant and Andrew Garton.

  • 1st Movement: Steve Law
  • 2nd Movement: Ash Wednesday
  • 3rd Movement: Andrew Garton
  • 4th Movement: John Grant
  • 5th Movement: Law, Wednesday, Garton, Grant

Includes field recordings from Invasion Day speeches made on the steps of Parliament House, Melbourne, on the morning prior to the performance.

Sound Information #31 – With A Will Base Metal Zone

Performed live by Andrew Garton (voice, processing) and Kelly Churko (noise) , With A Will Base Metal Zone grows from a text by Sydney based writer/filmmaker, David Nerlich.

Garton has performed countless versions of Nerlich’s original text, With A Will, with as many collaborators. This is a unique “noise” interpretation of this work from two consumate artists.

Performed live at Soup, Oichia, Tokyo, 23 August 2008.